The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt and Oliver Jeffers

Image

A children’s book! With pictures! Blasphemy!

I picked this up on a Barnes and Noble excursion the other day. The cover drew me in. I, like many of you, grew up as an avid crayon user (pronounced “crown” where I’m from). Your art tools are rebelling!

This book is an absolute delight. I took turns reading it allowed with my little (Big Brother Big Sisters), and we had a great time reading why each crown decided to go on strike, each extremely self-righteous. It’s a very clever little book with an actual child’s drawings for illustration.

To take it to a deep, literary level, it challenges children to think about why they use the colors they use when drawing. It even throws in some gender commentary (which I obviously loved). I highly recommend to young readers as a unique read. Or…readers of all ages who enjoy a good crayon tale.

2 thoughts on “The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt and Oliver Jeffers

Leave a Reply

