30 Day Book Challenge: Day 6- A Book That Broke My Heart

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

The_Fault_in_Our_Stars

I’ve been wanting to write a post about this book for a while, and this is the perfect opportunity. I read a borrowed copy of this book on a road trip to New Orleans for a Sigma Tau Delta English Honors Society convention (It was a blasty blast). The trip was half a day long; I had gotten almost no sleep; I was in a car with people I barely knew (but they were very kind and awesome). So I start reading this book, and I finish it within hours, and I’m just sitting in the backseat of this rental car with tears pouring down my face, trying to sob quietly so these people who barely know me don’t think I’m psychotic. They saw me, but thankfully they’re English majors too so they understood.

tumblr_mqahorKCqv1sznmkko1_500

This book breaks my heart because I just really wanted a happy ending, even though I knew there couldn’t possibly be one. I loved the characters so much that I wanted a miracle to happen. I wanted literary proof that bad things don’t happen to good people, especially when they’re young and in love. Green’s writing in this novel is so beautiful and meaningful that it filled my heart with warmth, even after all the tears. Yes, it broke my heart, but, in the end, I was ok with that because, like the characters, I found that the experience was worth the pain.

 

My other posts about John Green: Looking for Alaska    An Abundance of Katherines 

One thought on “30 Day Book Challenge: Day 6- A Book That Broke My Heart

Leave a Reply

