30 Day Book Challenge: Day 9- A Book I Thought I Wouldn’t Like But Ended Up Loving

 

MeTalkPrettyOneDayCover

Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris

I had never read anything David Sedaris had written until he visited my hometown Barnes and Noble. He was a charming speaker. He signed a copy of his book that I had never read, and I was content to leave it on my bookshelf. I knew he was famous and a big deal so it was worth it to me.

This is a picture of my autographed book. He drew a drunk rabbit which is obviously the best thing ever. (He also offered the young people at his signing either shampoo or condoms as a reward for being young readers. I took the shampoo because my dad was there.)

photo

I’d always loved biographies and autobiographies, but I was never interested in autobiographical memoirs because I’d always had this idea of the genre just being someone reminiscing over anecdotes from their life that they found amusing. Everyone thinks their funny stories are the funniest.

Then I started listening to his audio books during my hour-long commute to my summer job, which made it wayyyy less awful. I listened to Sedaris read his memoirs and found myself laughing out loud to myself and remembering the stories long after. Sedaris writes with great humor and heart that it felt like I was talking to an old friend and laughing with him about memories we shared. This book was my favorite out of his. Plus, I love the cover art on all of his books.

Have you read his other books or essays?

Leave a Reply

