30 Day Book Challenge: Day 13- My Favorite Author

Meg Cabot. (Rhymes with “rabbit,” just an FYI)

10109581-meg-cabot-copyright-ali-smith

Reasons I Love Meg Cabot:
-We’re very similar! We’re both from southern Indiana. She attended Indiana University, and I did too for a while. We both love to draw. We both have cats. The list goes on.
-She writes SO much! Once I got to meet her (which was a pinnacle of my existence), and I asked her how on earth she is so prolific. She essentially told me that she knew no other way. She just did it all the time. This is awesome because I can always look forward to a new book and have so many others to go back and re-read.
-She started out under the pseudonym Patricia Cabot and wrote a series of period romance novels which were my first introduction into the romance genre. I used to dream of writing books like those. Maybe it will happen someday.
– I love her characters. There’s never a character who I can’t relate to on any level. Seriously, I couldn’t even pick a favorite. I always find myself thinking that I would react the same way her characters would. Her female protagonists are so endearing because they’re humans who have flaws, for better or for worse and have character and heart. I want to be them or be best friends with them!
-Cabot herself is awesome. She writes a great blog which she updates regularly. I love reading her take on everything from books to pop culture.
-She supports good causes, often writing for anthologies when the proceeds go to charity.
-She has often said that she never sets out to write The Great American Novel or the next War and Peace. She just wants to write to entertain and make people happy. I think this is what all writers should aspire to do with their stories.
-Her sense of humor is spot on. I constantly laugh out loud while reading her work!

She gave this sage writing advice:
“Write the kind of story you would like to read. People will give you all sorts of advice about writing, but if you are not writing something you like, no one else will like it either.”

2 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge: Day 13- My Favorite Author

  1. Through volunteering at the library I’ve noticed how prolific Cabot is – she has several shelves just stacked with her books! She seems like an author I would love too, I need to read something by her soon. It’s great that she has humor and knows what she wants to write; doing it well is a plus too. Great post!

  2. Pingback: 30 Day Book Challenge: Day 20 – Favorite Romance Book | Shelf-Made Girl

Leave a Reply

